Angel and Jamaica

Angel and Jamaica were dogs we had when Sam was younger. We got Angel from a friend who couldn’t keep her anymore, and she turned out to be the best dog we ever had. Sam was only 5 or so when we got her, and she was fiercely loyal to him. There were a couple times when she bit people who she thought were playing too roughly with him. She was a huge dog who thought she was a lapdog. Whenever I would sit in my chair, she would jump up in my lap and curl up, just like a small dog would do. I loved her too much to scold her for it. She absolutely hated riding in a vehicle. If she knew I was about to take her somewhere, she would hide, if she had a chance. If I got her outside before she realized what was happening, she would lie down, and I would have to pick her up and lug her into the car. Despite her fear of riding in the car, she didn’t hate me for taking her on our epic journey to Colorado. We were on the road for 3 weeks, and the whole trip, she lay behind my seat with her face shoved as far under my seat as she could get it. She didn’t care too much about staying in a tent, either, but that wasn’t nearly as bad as the traveling part.

A few years later, the ladies I worked with were looking online at dogs in shelters. There was one that stole my heart. His name was Jamaica, and he was a miniature version of Angel. His owner had badly abused him and even went to jail for it. I contacted the owner of the shelter and went to look at Jamaica that Saturday. I took Angel with me. When the lady saw Angel, she said she could see why I was interested in Jamaica, and she let me have him without having to pay the usual adoption fee. Poor Jamaica had a lot of problems because of the abuse he had suffered. He couldn’t see very well, and he couldn’t learn new things, like becoming housebroken. I had to keep him in his own little area of the house and clean him and his area every day, but I was happy to be able to give him the love he had missed out on in his life.

Unfortunately, the house we lived in was full of mold. It made all of us sick, especially the dogs. They got very sick before I knew what was causing it, and they ended up having to be put down. That was one of the saddest days of my life. The picture in the top left corner is of Angel and Jamaica lazing around.

Leave a Reply

