Supermoon

Tonight, the moon is full and at its closest point to Earth this year. That’s why it is called a supermoon. I was really looking forward to seeing it while also realizing that it might be hard because of the mountains (think large hills, not really mountains) around here. It turned out that the terrain was not my problem. The sky is very overcast tonight. Right when I first got home, I managed to get a picture of the moon before the clouds completely covered it. I went back outside a while later to see if they clouds had cleared any, but they hadn’t. So, I’m pretty disappointed tonight.

Here’s the picture I took when I first got home. Since it’s so dark out here, you can’t see anything else in the picture to compare the size of the moon to.



Here’s a picture I took when I went back outside a few minutes later. The clouds are completely covering the moon, and all you can see is a hint of a glow.



By the way, if you click on the photos, they open to a larger version where you can see more detail. The first picture is pretty awesome full-sized.

Leave a Reply

