Mother’s Day

For me, Mother’s Day is a bittersweet day. I love remembering what a wonderful mom I had and what a blessing being Sam’s mom has been, but I miss my mom terribly.

My mom was a quiet, refined lady. She didn’t talk much around people, but when she did say something, it was worth listening to. But, when she let you into her private side, she was funny, even crazy sometimes. She was beautiful, kind, and hospitable. She was also one of the most intelligent women I’ve ever known. I miss just talking to her. I sure could use some of her wisdom these days!

Mom was in college in this picture. She got her degree in Elementary Education at Morehead State University in Morehead, KY. When I went off to college, she went back to school and got her Master’s degree in Library Science and worked as a school librarian for many years.



This is one of my most favorite pictures — the two people who make Mother’s Day special to me. It shows what a wonderful Grandma Mom was. Sam loved her like a 2nd mom, and he misses her almost as much as I do. He’s so happy in this picture, and I don’t know if I’ve seen him that happy again since Mom passed away.

Leave a Reply

