My New Habit

Have you ever tried to break a bad habit? it can be one of the hardest things to do. It can be equally hard to start a new, beneficial habit. I’ve heard that in order to make a new habit stick, you have to do it consistently for twenty-one days in a row. Well, twenty days ago, I started a new habit, and it’s beginning to stick. I want to tell you about it.

It started in my Sunday school class about three weeks ago. The first thing I noticed upon entering the room was a table laid out with a place setting. On top of the plate was a Bible. In the lesson, our teacher (Mrs. Sheri Williams) talked about how getting daily spiritual nourishment from the Word of God is as important as getting our daily physical nourishment from food.

I got to thinking about how, being an ultimate multi-tasker, I nearly always do something while I eat (eg. read a book, surf the web, play a game on my iPhone); and I decided that from now on, if I’m going to engage in some kind of activity while I eat, I will first read some in my Bible. I have a Bible app (Olive Tree Bible Reader) on my iPhone, so I have my Bible with me wherever I go.

My Bible app lets me bookmark pages, and I have several passages marked. I take turns reading a few verses in one or more passage each time I sit down to eat. It takes only a few minutes, and then I can go on and do whatever else I would normally be doing. Since I’m reading only a few verses two or three times a day, it doesn’t seem like much, but it has already had a great positive impact on my life. I’ve learned more from church services and Sunday school since some of the passages I have marked are the ones we are studying there; and I feel closer to God, more in tune, and more comfortable going to Him in prayer throughout the day.

If you’re like I was and either have trouble remembering to read your Bible every day or have a hard time finding time to squeeze it into your busy schedule, I strongly suggest you try this. It literally takes just a few minutes at each sitting, but it is the most beneficial habit I have ever formed.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeannie on May 19, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Our church is reading through the Bible this year. I put a Bible app on my phone and have read much more of the Bible than I normally would have at this point. Like you, I always have my phone with me, so whenever I have to wait for something, I just get my phone and read a little. It makes the time pass so quickly and I’m being fed from the Word of God at the same time.

    I have gotten such a blessing from always having a “Bible” with me and being able to read at any time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

