My Rant #1

I’m in the mood to rant. It’s my blog, so I can. You are free to read or not read. I named this one Rant #1, assuming that I will want to rant again in the future.

I am blessed with thick hair….double-thick hair, to be exact. I have a vast quantity of hair, and each individual strand is thick and coarse. It is both a blessing and a curse. I don’t think I’ll ever have to worry about going bald, but I burn up in the summer, and I am always drawn toward hairstyles I can’t do because my hair is too heavy. I don’t think of my hair all that much, and I don’t have much patience for people who are obsessed with their hair (or, in some cases, their growing lack of hair).

That brings me to a person I know who is beyond self-conscious of his receding hairline, to the point that he finally went and had a hair transplant done, after contemplating it for nearly ten years. Not to be cruel or anything, but I see this as pure vanity. If he had the extra money lying around, it would be one thing. But, when someone is two months behind on their mortgage, getting a multi-thousand-dollar hair transplant is a very frivolous thing to do. Sure, his best friend paid for it, but he still owes his friend the money.

A few weeks after the transplant, he had a cancer scare. The first thing that came to my mind when I heard about it was if he had to have chemo and lost his hair, the money for that transplant would be down the drain, and he would still owe his friend for it. Like I said, very frivolous!

I want to make it very clear…I am NOT against hair transplants! I have seen some men who have had them, and they look great. I am against spending money you don’t have on something you don’t need, though, and in my way of thinking, most people don’t NEED a hair transplant. In fact, I personally think bald men can be quite sexy.

End of rant.

Leave a Reply

