The Road Not Taken

Several years ago, I was at a crossroads. On one side, I had someone I loved telling me where to go, pretty much making all my decisions for me. On the other side, I had my heart telling me where I needed to be, somewhere relatively unknown to me, far away. There was a man I loved, the best man I’ve ever known, and I knew I wanted to be near him; but back then, I had absolutely no self confidence at all. I was unsure of myself, unsure of his feelings toward me, unsure of my potential to provide for Sam, who was quite young at the time. So, I took the road paved for me by someone else; I followed the directions given to me, the decisions that were made for me. I don’t know how it would have turned out if I had taken the other road. I don’t know where I would be now (perhaps in the poor house). I don’t know if I would have ever been with the one I loved. I do know this, though…if I had taken that road, I would have at least had a chance to be with him. Now, I have zero chance.

Leave a Reply

