I Asked The Lord

As I stated in my last post, I’m currently taking a hiatus from facebook and focusing my attention on things going on around here. Facebook tends to be too much of a distraction, and I decided that I needed to shut if off completely and spend more time seeking God so that I can gain wisdom on what I need to do and the decisions I need to make.

I have not taken a hiatus from the internet completely, just from facebook. On twitter, the people I follow tend to strengthen my faith, which is always something needed. So do the blogs I read. Yesterday, I came across a blog with a hymn I had never heard. The name of the hymn is “I Asked The Lord”. The words were written by John Newton who wrote “Amazing Grace”. The words are powerful and, though over 130 years old, still relevant today. Here are some of the words:

I hoped that in some favored hour
At once He’d answer my request,
Andy by His love’s constraining pow’r
Subdue my sins and give me rest.

Instead of this He made me feel
The hidden evils of my heart,
And let the angry pow’rs of Hell
Assault my soul in every part.

Yea more with His own hand He seemd
Intent to aggravate my woe,
Crossed all the fair designs I schemed,
Cast out my feelings, laid me low.

As the song goes on, he asks the Lord why this is happening, and if He is going to pursue Him to death. The Lord responds that this is how He answers prayers for grace and faith. The song ends with the Lord saying:

These inward trials I employ
From self and pride to set thee free,
And break thy schemes of earthly joy
That thou mayest seek thy all in Me.



The past couple weeks have been really rough ones, but I realized (partly, after hearing this song), that it was likely a tool God was using to get me to focus more on Him and less on people and things around me. There are several issues I have been praying about, and it seemed that everything was going the opposite way I thought they should. The past few days of intent prayer and seeking God’s guidance have made things a little clearer. The path ahead is looking a little brighter today than it was a week ago.

Leave a Reply

