My Kroger Incident

I haven’t told about this here yet, and I think it’s time I go ahead and vent.

On December 3, 2012, I stopped in my local Kroger to get a few things after I dropped Sam off at school. As I was reaching into the soda cooler to get a Dr. Pepper for Sam to have after school, a cashier let the door slam on my finger.

My first instinct was to just go on home and nurse my finger. However, the way it was throbbing and becoming bruised, I decided it would be better to go on to the ER and have it checked out. I asked the cashier to call a manager so I could file an incident report, and she did as I asked, although very grudgingly.

She was rude to me from the first moment of our encounter, and she treated me with disrespect. I should not have been surprised by that, as I have witnessed her talking rudely to other customers in the past, even telling an elderly woman at a self-checkout that she needed to hurry up and get get out of there because other customers were waiting in line.

As I was waiting for the manager, I asked this same cashier if someone could get me some ice for my finger. She stomped over to the ice freezer, got out a 10-pound bag of ice, threw it in a shopping cart near me, and said, rather saucily, “Here! You can put your hand on that!”

There isn’t much to say about the manager. He did his job. He wasn’t rude, nor was he particularly concerned. He was just there, doing his job.

Up until this incident, Kroger was my favorite place to shop for groceries, despite the fact that I work at Walmart. The store is always clean, usually has what I need in stock, and is laid out in a rational way. The workers are often aloof, if not outright rude; but since I usually go through the self-checkout, I have very little contact with them on an average visit to the store. Before this incident, I went to Kroger at least once a week, often three or four times a week. I haven’t been there since December 3, and I don’t know if I’ll ever go back. I do know that if I ever venture back into that particular Kroger, I will turn around and leave the instant I catch sight of the aforementioned cashier. I don’t believe she has any business working with the public, and I won’t subject myself to her poor attitude again.

As if all this wasn’t enough, I’m getting the run-around from Kroger corporate. It was several days before I heard from anyone at all, and then I never actually got to talk to the person who contacted me. She left a voicemail for me, and then was never available to take my return calls. Every time she would call me back, I would be at work and unable to answer my phone, and when I would return the call, I would get her voicemail. When she finally understood that I had been to the ER, she transferred the case to an outside party who handles that kind of claim. That’s when I finally got to talk to a real person. He got my information and said he would get back with me after he had talked to the store manager, who happened to be on vacation at the time. Because of the holidays, I didn’t hear back from him until Jan 7. Of course, I was at work and unable to take the call. Several times, I have called the number he left in his voicemail, and each time I was re-routed to a voicemail service asking for the voice mailbox number of the person I was calling. As he didn’t give me that information, I have been unable to respond to him. I eventually called the woman back and left a message for her explaining the situation, hoping she could get the message on to him. Apparently, she either hasn’t tried or hasn’t been able to get a hold of him either, as I still haven’t heard back from him.

So, now I have a bill from the hospital and no money to pay it, when it is Kroger’s responsibility to cover it. I don’t know what to do or where to go from here.

Leave a Reply

