Lazy Snow Day Sunday

To set the mood for this post, here’s a picture taken from my porch this morning:

IMG_0872

Not being able to get out of my driveway, I just stayed home and even stayed in my pajamas all day! Don’t be thinking that I was actually being lazy, though. I was oh-so busy in the kitchen! I lost count of how many times I had to wash dishes (by hand, since we don’t have a dishwasher). Sam had a friend spend the night last night, and it seems teenagers just can’t reuse a dish or cup. They have to get clean ones EVERY time!

My day started out by making a big breakfast for the boys: scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits, and gravy, followed by washing dishes, of course! According to Sam and his friend, the eggs were great, and the gravy was “perfect”.

For lunch, I made a tater tot casserole. I went ahead and made double the recipe (which I made up in my head as I went along) and made one to freeze for an easy supper some night when I have to work late. I frequently have intentions of doing that, but today was the first time I did it. I must say I’m rather proud of myself!

For dessert, I made a coconut cream pie, from scratch (except the graham cracker crust), also made up in my head as I went along. I wish I had written it down since it turned out so yummy. I’d try to write it out now, but I didn’t measure everything, so I wouldn’t know what amounts to put for some of the ingredients.

I also made up 8 smoothie packs for the freezer. Now, whenever I want a smoothie, I can just grab one of the smoothie packs (made up of an assortment of fruit) and add a little yogurt and/or milk in the blender. I feel so accomplished today and ready for busy days ahead.

Not all my work was done in the kitchen. I also worked some on my book, which I hope to have completed in the next couple months or so.

Despite being so busy, I had to spend some time just loving on my cat. It demanded attention! It kept getting in my lap (and face) every time I sat down. It’s nice that it was being so loving today. Here’s a picture of it resting on my chest earlier today. It’s just so darn photogenic!

IMG_0874

Tonight, I’m going to watch the Superbowl, but I really don’t care who wins. For all you die-hard 49ers and Ravens fans out there, don’t be hatin’. I’m just watching it so I can see the trailer for the new Fast and Furious movie coming out on May 24. Gotta love me some Paul Walker!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Addie on February 3, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    Enjoyed the read. You accomplished quite a lot staying home in pjs. I learned one thing about you, no use asking for your recipes 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

