My Car

I drive a 1999 Mustang 5-speed. It’s not exactly my dream car, but it has been a reliable one. It is now 14 years old and has over 210,000 miles on it, and it’s starting to have problems. It has been running a little rough lately, with the engine missing some and causing the car to rattle. Ford recommends replacing the spark plugs and wires every 60-90,000 miles, and it hadn’t been done in over 100,000 miles. So, this past Friday, I had that done, hoping that would be the remedy to the problem. They definitely needed to be replaced (one spark plug was cracked in the ceramic part), yet the problem is still there and, in fact, getting worse. It turns out that there is an exhaust leak near the manifold. This is allowing cold air to get into the valves whenever they open, and it could end up causing my engine to burn up. Although the car needed the servicing it received this past weekend, had I known about the exhaust problem, I would have had it repaired first. Now, as it is, I have spent most of the money I had set aside for car repairs, and the car still has a serious problem. It’s so bad that I’m beginning to be afraid to drive it.

I welcome, even encourage, any advice, hints, or tips anyone may have for me.

Here’s a picture of my old, faithful car:

IMG_0660

Leave a Reply

