Health Update

I’m back home from my hospital adventure. I think I was stuck with a needle 16 or 17 times, not including frequent finger pricks. I have terrible veins, and whether starting an IV or drawing blood, they never get it with the first stick. My arms and hands are black and blue all over!

Yesterday, I had my first experience with a radial heart cath. Instead of going through the groin, they went through my arm. I panicked when they explained what they were going to do, but it ended up being a much better way to do it. I had to keep my arm still for a few hours afterward, but that beats having to keep my whole lower body still for 8 hours! The worst part was that they had to move my IV since it was on the arm they wanted to use for the cath. It had taken 5 tries to finally get that IV going, and it took 2 or 3 tries to get the new one going when they moved it.

While I was in the hospital, they did and EKG, a chest X-ray, a stress test, a heart cath, an abdominal ultrasound, an ultrasound of my neck, and CT scans of my head and abdomen. (The stress test came back abnormal, which is why they did the cath. Something looked off in the abdominal ultrasound, which is why they did the abdominal CT scan.)

While I’m glad I don’t have any of the serious conditions they were testing for, I would really like to know what is causing me to be dizzy so much of the time and why I passed out at work Monday. I’m going to take it easy the next couple days and see how I do, and I am supposed to follow up with my family doctor in a week or so.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Addie on March 6, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    I have small rolling veins also. I have had they stick and then dig around trying to find a vein. I can only imagine how bad your arms must look. I know you must be so happy to be home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

