Adult Issues

I miss being a child…not all the time, but sometimes, especially now. The greatest thing about being a child is not having to make decisions for yourself. I hate having to make decisions, because as an adult, I have learned that my decisions have consequences, causing me to over-think and over-analyze every choice I have to make to ensure the best outcome possible. This is exacerbated by having a child who is affected by my decisions.

In school, we all learned the poem by Robert Frost about two roads diverged in a wood. In the end, he chose the one less traveled by and reported that it made all the difference. I, too, am at a crossroad; but I can’t tell, by looking, which road is less traveled. They both appear to me to be equally worn and trampled. I have to make a decision about which way to go, but I just don’t know.

I have, of course, prayed and prayed and prayed about it. I have new understanding for the Bible verse “Pray without ceasing” (I Thess. 5:17). I have been doing that. I have also gotten advice from a few of my most trusted friends. Almost unanimously, they have said the same thing. Somehow, though, I’m just not sure they’re right. I just don’t know.

For now, I’m just continuing to stand in this one spot, looking first one direction, then the other. I feel like a child who has lost its mother in a crowded store. Speaking of which, I sure wish I had my mom here to talk with about this.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa Cole on March 18, 2013 at 10:43 am

    I know what you mean. There is a song I like in which the lyrics say “I still remember the world
    From the eyes of a child
    Slowly those feelings
    Were clouded by what I know now

    Where has my heart gone
    An uneven trade for the real world
    Oh I… I want to go back to
    Believing in everything and knowing nothing at all

    I still remember the sun
    Always warm on my back
    Somehow it seems colder now

    Where has my heart gone
    Trapped in the eyes of a stranger
    Oh I… I want to go back to
    Believing in everything”
    I myself get so tired of the daily struggle of life. Being a single mom, worrying about the bills, worrying about my kids, etc. You are not alone in this. I think there are so many more of us that feel like you do, we just don’t have the guts to admit it. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

