Disappointing Day

It’s Easter Sunday, and I’m bummed out! I make it a practice to go to church every Sunday, not just at Easter and Christmas; but I ended up stuck at home today. And…I had some great plans for today! My very favorite southern Gospel group (Brian Free & Assurance) were in concert at a church just an hour away this morning, and I had planned to go. That was like adding insult to injury.

Before I explain my change in plans, I need you to understand that I am likely the clutziest person you will ever meet. In fact, when I was a young girl, my dad called me Clutzy far more often than he called me by my name. I was so bad about breaking things, that he told me he believed I could break an anvil.

Last night, I made deviled eggs in preparation for today’s dinner. As I was draining the boiling water off the eggs, it splashed onto me and burned me. I knew it was bad at the time, but I wasn’t prepared for the nasty welt across my belly today. (It probably could use some medical attention.) This morning, I couldn’t find anything decent enough to wear in public that didn’t irritate my burn. I’ve gone around the house all day in an over-sized nightshirt since it was the only thing I could find that wouldn’t touch my belly. In a little while, I’m going to a friend’s house to get some salve for the burn, and I don’t know what I’m going to wear over there.

Even though I couldn’t be in church today, I’ve concentrated my thoughts on Christ’s resurrection and listened to uplifting Gospel music. It wasn’t quite the same, but it was still a nice day of worship. I hope all of my readers have had a blessed Easter Sunday!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lori DeVall on March 31, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    I’m so sorry you were burned 😦 That hurts so bad even if you burn just a finger much less your tummy! Praying you will heal quickly. Oh and you’re not a clutz by the way! Don’t tell anyone (lol) but I once got up in the middle of the night half asleep and walked face first into my bedroom door that I always keep closed! Anyway feel better soon do you have any “Silvadine”(sp?) it’s a prescription salve that works really good on burns. Hope you are having a nice Easter. (((HUGS))) anyway 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

