Childhood Revisited

Many of my readers are probably unaware that I lived in Mexico for a while as a child. My parents were missionaries. We didn’t live there very long (just under a year), but I still have very fond memories of those days. Whenever we would eat out in Mexico, the one thing I always ordered was chocolate. No, I’m not talking about candy. It’s more like hot cocoa…but much better. It’s so rich and chocolaty, and it’s one of my favorite memories from Mexico. While doing a little grocery shopping this morning, I saw this:

2013-05-09 20.55.15

I had to get it, and I couldn’t wait to get home and make it! As the chocolate began to melt in the milk, I could smell the wonderful richness that I remembered from my childhood. I had chocolate instead of my usual daily cup of coffee, and I think I might do that for the rest of the week.

Another strong memory from childhood is books. My mom was a librarian, and she instilled her love of books in me at an early age. I didn’t just read books; I devoured them. One of my all-time favorite books is Little Women which I received as a gift from Ron and Barbara Pyles many, many years ago. I have read it so many times that it is falling apart. So, today I started reading it on Kindle, a copy that will never fall apart. The thing is, every time I read Beth’s name, I get sad. Even if the part I’m reading is a happy scene, when Beth is mentioned, my eyes fill with tears because of what will happen later. That’s why I usually don’t re-read books or re-watch movies. Little Women is an exception to that rule because it is such a great book.

Beginning to read it again today, for the first time in many years, took me back to my childhood, as the chocolate did. All in all, it was a wonderfully nostalgic day.

Leave a Reply

