I Have Something Important to Say

When Sam was a little boy, I used to tell him I had something important to tell him, and he would get very serious and wait for my important news. I would always say, “I love you.” He would groan and say, “Aww, Mom, that’s not important!” But, it was, and it still is.

I’m glad I grew up with parents who told me they loved me. I heard it at least once a day, at bedtime, and often at other times during the day as well. My mom told me that the only time she ever heard her dad say he loved her was after I was born. I know she was glad to hear it finally, though she wished it had been said more often.

Sam and I say we love each other many times a day. Every time we say goodbye, whether on the phone or in person, no matter where we are, we say “I love you. Goodbye.” He says it even when we’re at his school, though I have noticed that he says it a little quieter these days and sometimes makes the comment that I don’t need to talk so loudly. Sometimes I wonder if it has become a trite saying with us that doesn’t mean anything anymore; but I know, for my part, I love hearing Sam say it any time he will. I think it still means a lot to him, too, because if I ever leave the house without saying it, even if I’m just going down the road to the store, he will call my cell phone and say, “Well, I guess you don’t love me any more.” Of course, he knows that’s not true, but he’s letting me know that it’s still a big deal to him like it is to me.

I really do say it a lot, because I want my friends and family to know how important they are to me. I’ve been told that maybe I say it too often, but I know how good it makes me feel when someone says it to me, and I don’t want to pass up the chance to let others know how special they are. Tell someone you love them today.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Beautifully written. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

