Beyond Accident-Prone

I’m sure you know someone who has been referred to as “accident-prone”. If you know me, then you know what I’m talking about. I have been called “clutzy” and even call myself that, but I’m starting to think that, in my case, it goes beyond being clutzy or accident-prone. My frequent accidents tend to result in extreme, and sometimes even bizarre, injuries…such as the 3rd degree burns from spilling boiling water on my belly earlier this year.

Well, this past Wednesday, I had another “incident”. As I was going down some steps that were wet from rain, I slipped and tumbled to the ground. I think it was 5 or 6 steps I fell down. I braced myself with my right hand/arm, and now I can barely even use it. I’m such an extreme right-hander that I can’t do much of anything with my left hand, so life has become very interesting. I also ended up with bruises on both legs and on my butt. In fact, I suspect that I may have fractured my tailbone. It’s got a huge, bad-looking bruise on it, is horribly swollen, and hurts like the dickens, especially when I sit down. I’ve been icing it for 10-15 minutes every couple hours and trying to avoid sitting as much as possible, but it still hurts so badly sometimes that I feel like I’m going to throw up.

I’m not going to waste money going to the doctor about it as I’m sure they can’t/won’t do anything more for it than what I’m already doing. If anyone knows of anything else I can do to ease the pain and discomfort, I’d appreciate any suggestions!

Leave a Reply

