RunKeeper

I like to walk, especially at night when I can see the stars. I try to walk every day, or at least every other day. I have a pedometer to help me track my steps every day. It also displays distance, but this particular one happens to be in kilometers instead of miles, so I have to manually convert my steps into miles. I first had to measure my stride, which happens to be very short (only 19.5 inches). Then, I multiply the number of steps by 19.5 and divide that number into 63,360 (the number of inches in a mile) to calculate how many miles I walked. It’s a tedious process and not one to encourage me to keep it up.

Then, last Sunday, a friend told me about the RunKeeper app for smartphones. What an amazing invention! It uses GPS to track your route, distance, pace, etc. It doesn’t count steps, but if I want to know that, I can calculate it manually by multiplying the number of miles by 3250. All the great benefits of RunKeeper outweigh that one missing feature anyway. Every time I go for a walk, it stores the data so I can see at a glance if I’m improving or slacking. It keeps track of my personal records. That’s a great feature since I’m very competitive and want to keep setting new records. There are several preset training plans to help train for various races (ex: 5k, 10k, half-marathon, marathon) and different levels of fitness. One of my favorite features is the option to receive reminders to workout. I have mine set to remind me every day. Last night, I probably would not have walked if I hadn’t gotten the reminder on my phone. Looking at it made me feel guilty for even thinking about not walking. I got up off my lazy butt and set three new personal records!

So, for all you runners/walkers out there, check out the RunKeeper app! The basic service is free, and that’s all I’ve used so far. If I ever decide to start training for a marathon or something, I may upgrade to the premium service, but for what I do, the free service is great.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Alanna Guella on September 9, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    There are many free “pedometer” apps for iPhone and Android devices which also utilize GPS tracking to determine distance, pace, calories burned AND STEPS! Runtastic seems to work well.

    Reply

  2. […] RunKeeper […]

    Reply

  3. Your style is really unique compared to other people I have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

