“Meet the Vikings”

Tonight, I got to go to Sam’s last “Meet the Vikings” event at THS. Sadly, it was the first one I was able to attend because of my previous job. As soon as the band began coming out on the court, I started crying, and I didn’t stop until they went back out. It’s hard to see my baby growing up, but it’s such a wonderful blessing at the same time.

Here’s a picture of the tuba section of The Mighty Viking Band. Sam is the middle tuba, the only band member in brown jeans instead of blue jeans. (I’ll tell the story about that after I finish showing off my boy.)

2013-08-12 18.58.38

In this video, the tuba section is being introduced.



In this video, the band is playing the fight song. I realize I focused in on the tuba section for most of it. I did that on purpose.



I taped Sam as he was leaving Viking Hall with the band. You may notice he’s walking with a tiny limp. That’s because he sprained his foot in band practice this afternoon.



____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Now for the story about Sam’s pants…

Sometime back, someone, who wasn’t me or Sam, refilled the Spray-N-Wash bottle with bleach without letting me know. As a result, many of Sam’s clothes were ruined. Although the offending party never would admit guilt in the situation, as soon as the situation was mentioned, said person immediately offered money to buy Sam some new clothes. As said person tends to be the tightest of tight wads, the gesture was pretty much an admission of guilt. Although Sam was extremely happy about getting new clothes, there was only enough money given to buy one outfit. Had we known at the time that he would need blue jeans tonight, we would probably have bought them instead of the brown jeans he has on in the photo and videos.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Suzanne,

    When I first met you, Sam was in elementary school. I remember you posting a picture one time of you driving him to school and he wasn’t much higher than the dashboard. Now he’s a distinguished young man . . . with bleached pants! 🙂

    Reply

    • Yes, Al, you’re so right! I believe Sam had his trumpet in the picture you’re referring to, and he was small enough to hide behind it much the same way he can hide behind his tuba now. He has grown into an incredible young man! We’ll have to come visit you again so you can see how much he has grown.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

