Sam Is Sick … Again

I don’t know how to keep this boy of mine well! The poor kid has been sick, off and on, his whole life. For the most part, his problems have been respiratory in nature. By the time he was 5, he had been hospitalized 4 or 5 times with asthma/bronchitis and RSV. A couple years ago, he had a bad case of mono which caused him to miss almost half of a semester of school. Last year, he had surgery to remove his gall bladder and appendix and had scary complications with it. Now, he’s sick again.

Thursday evening, when I picked him up from after-school band rehearsal, his temp was 102.3°. He had been struggling with a sinus infection for over a month and was on his second antibiotic for it, so he shouldn’t have had such a high temp. I took him to the ER, and they diagnosed him with pneumonia along with the sinus infection, and they changed his antibiotic and gave him a shot.

Sam at the ER, Thursday night:

2013-09-26 20.18.59

The next day, I had him checked out by his pediatrician, as instructed by the ER doctor. Sam was still running a fever, and his doctor  was concerned about dehydration. He told me to call him this morning with an update. When I called this morning, I told him that I didn’t feel like Sam had improved much, that his temp was 103° last night, and that his urine was very dark, which I assumed meant he was dehydrated. The doctor said to take him to the ER and expect him to be admitted.

At the ER, his chest X-ray was clear (yay!), and he was not dehydrated (yay, again!). However, the blood test results were not good. They don’t know exactly what’s wrong, and we’ll have to wait until all the test results are back to know for sure. Hopefully, we’ll know by Monday afternoon. In the meantime, the ER doctor said there isn’t anything they can do until they know what it is. I’m supposed to call his pediatrician after noon on Monday for more info and to find out what to do next.

All I know for sure right now is that Sam is still running a fever and is contagious. He’s very fatigued and feels bad all over. I hate seeing him sick, especially when there isn’t anything I can do to help him.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I gave you 5 Stars, Shared on fb, asking for prayers for Sam, and breathing another pray as I write. Please, both of you have a good night. Jenny Stallard Boggs

    Reply

  2. Posted by Vicky Reeves on September 29, 2013 at 10:26 am

    Suzanne, I am praying for Sam’s healing and for you as well. I hope you get answers asap.

    Reply

  3. […] my last post regarding Sam’s health, I was intentionally vague since we didn’t have all the answers […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

