Change

Do you believe people can change? I’ve talked to various friends about this, and their opinions are split. Some say people never change; they just put on a facade and act the way they think you want them to act until they get what they want. Others say they know people who have definitely changed, for better or for worse. I believe people can and do change. I doubt any of us are the same as we were twenty years ago — we’ve changed, some drastically, some subtly. I know I’ve changed a lot over the years. I’m not at all the same person I was ten years ago. I’m even quite different than I was just five years ago. I know who I am now, and even more importantly, I know who God is now.

You may be wondering what has brought up this subject, so I’ll tell you. My freshman year of college, I had a roommate who was horrible. She was perhaps the most notorious female on campus the fall semester of 1987. (Her brother was in the running for most notorious male that semester also.) I don’t believe I had ever met a more rebellious person at that point in my life. She didn’t want to be there, and she did everything she could think of to get kicked out. (It baffles me to this day why they didn’t just kick her out instead of taking away demerits nearly every week, keeping her under the 150 mark. Perhaps they felt it was more punishment making her stay rather than letting her go home.) I haven’t thought of her much over the years, but when I have, I imagined all kinds of trouble she had probably gotten into as time went by.

So, the other day, curiosity got the better of me, and I decided to try to find her on the internet, just to see what had ever become of her. It didn’t take long to find her facebook profile, and I have to say I was shocked. There was nothing scandalous. In fact, there were Bible verses and other religious posts. I know people who would look at that and say, “What a hypocrite!” I choose to look at it and say, “What a wondrous change God can make in a person!”

How many times do we look at people and think (or even say out loud) that they should change? Then, when they do, how often do we accept that they really have?

Leave a Reply

