Kale Chips

I’ve seen several friends post on facebook, “I made kale chips!” While that sounded like an interesting endeavor, I didn’t think I’d ever be inclined to make them myself. Then, I decided to go on a very restrictive eating plan for about three weeks — no sugar, no starches, and very little fat (no oil or butter). What’s a southern girl to do? I’m a pretty decent cook, but most of my recipes are very southern in nature. (For those who don’t know what I mean: lots of oil and/or butter.) So, I’ve had to become adventurous and inventive with my cooking.

In thinking of ways to add more green, leafy vegetables to my diet, I recalled those posts about kale chips. Now, I could have gone online to find instructions on how to make them, but I was afraid oil might be involved. So, instead, I just did my own thing. Since they turned out great, I’ll share with you how I did it.

The first and most important step is to line a baking sheet with tin foil. Since I didn’t use any oil, I knew they would be apt to stick to the pan, and tin foil would make it easier to get them out, not to mention make clean up a breeze.

Next, I spread out baby kale leaves in a single layer on the baking sheet. I spritzed them with water to keep them from completely drying out in the oven and sprinkled them with salt, pepper, and onion powder. I put them in the oven for about 8 minutes at 350°.

The aroma, when they came out of the oven, was mouthwatering. Sam was in the kitchen with me, and he said they looked delicious and asked what they were. I told him and said he could try them. He ate one, said it tasted great, and  was impressed that it was something I was allowed to eat on my eating plan.

Here’s what they looked like:

2014-03-09 13.46.02

Leave a Reply

