Car Troubles

If you’re friends with me on facebook, you may (or may not) have seen my post Friday afternoon about my car. Short story – it’s down.

Friday, Sam and I drove about 300 miles back home from a short Spring Break vacation. About half way home, I started noticing that my car was acting a little strange. Thankfully, it waited until we were about 2 miles from home before giving out on me. As chance would have it, it stopped in the middle of a dead zone, cellularly-speaking. Nonetheless, I was able to get just enough service on my phone to call a friend. The signal kept going in and out, but she was able to figure out where we were and come to our rescue. (If we didn’t have luggage to deal with, we could have just walked the rest of the way home.)

It wasn’t until Saturday evening that I was able to have someone look at it. Strangely, two totally unrelated things happened at the same time. The battery had corroded the battery harness to the point that the clamp that attaches to the battery literally broke off. So, a new battery harness had to be spliced in. That was the easy (and inexpensive) part. Although we got the battery charged enough to start the car, I still need a new battery a.s.a.p.

The second issue is much more complicated and expensive. The clutch went out completely. There is no way to move my car without towing it. It was too late yesterday evening to get it towed to a garage, so that will have to wait until tomorrow sometime. Once it gets taken to a garage, I’ll find out exactly what is needed and how expensive it’s going to be. Ugh! I dread that!

Poor Sam informed me that I was taking my worries out on him, and I realized he was right. I’ve been so concerned about my car and how I’m going to get it back on the road that I didn’t even notice how short I was being with him until he mentioned it. He has been helpful in getting my mind off of it and onto other things that he wants to talk about. What a huge help that has been!

Although I’m worried, I still have a lot to be thankful for. The main thing is that my car waited until we were practically home before it went kaput. I don’t know what I would do if it had happened when we were still a long ways from home. There were no other cars on the road when my car decided to die, and I was able to coast it to a relatively safe place off the side of the road. Also, it has been a very dependable car in the 7+ years that I’ve owned it. It’s 15 years old and has over 230,000 miles on it, but it still gets me where I need to go…most of the time. It’s paid off, and it gets decent gas mileage for a V-6 engine. So, like I said, I have a lot to be thankful for.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] end of a 300-mile trip. I was so thankful it waited until we were close to home before dying on me. The diagnosis at that time was a corroded battery cable and a bad clutch, in addition to the miss. After a week […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

