My First Song

I’ve been writing poetry since I was a pre-teen, and I’ve even been published. I’ve dallied with writing stories, too. The one thing I’ve always wanted to write, though, is a song. I just never thought I could write lyrics that were good enough, and I knew I couldn’t write the music. Well, today I wrote the lyrics. I showed them to Sam in the car on the way home from school, and he thought they were pretty good. My idea was that, as he is so much more musical than I am, he could write the music for me. He had another idea. He has spent most of the evening giving me music theory lessons so I can write the music myself. He even gave me some homework. I’ll see what I can do, but I’m pretty sure he will still end up doing most of the work on the music.

In the meantime, here are the lyrics I wrote. You, my readers, can let me know what you think.

 

Regrets

By: Suzanne Mulkey

 

I know I’m not what you were looking for

That afternoon when you stopped at my door,

But we got along just fine

Until you went your way and I went mine.

We kept in touch for a while.

Hearing from you always made me smile,

But I had tough choices to make,

And I wound up making the worst mistake.

 

Maybe once I was fit for you,

But now I’ll never be good enough.

My lonely life will have to do,

Even though I know it’ll be tough.

 

You’ve heard tales that are hard to receive,

Terrible things you’d rather not believe.

Rumors and headlines, true,

But I’m still the person that you knew.

I’ve faced times that left me scarred,

And when I fell, what broke was my heart,

Struggling just to get through the days,

No longer caring the means or the ways.

 

Maybe once I was fit for you,

But now I’ll never be good enough.

My lonely life will have to do,

Even though I know it’ll be tough.

 

I’ve been sky-high and as low as you can get.

I’ve done lots of things I’ll always regret.

But now it’s too late, and my heart finally knows

That loving you was not one of those.

 

Maybe once I was fit for you,

But now I’ll never be good enough.

My lonely life will have to do,

Even though I know it’ll be tough.

 

Maybe once I was fit for you,

But now I’ll never be good enough.

You’ve probably forgotten me,

But you’re the one I’ll always love.

Leave a Reply

