Exceeding Abundantly

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the phrase “exceeding abundantly.” According to the dictionary, “exceeding” means extraordinary or exceptional, and “abundantly” gives the idea of being more than adequate or oversufficient. The connotation is one of extremes.

That phrase is found in Ephesians 3:20(KJV). It says that God is able to do “exceeding abundantly” above what we could ask or even think. So, that means that God can go to extremes in doing things for us, and that is an exciting concept.

Sometimes, I think we are timid in asking for what we need, even from God. So, it’s a good thing He will go beyond what we ask. What got me, though, was that He can also go beyond what we can think. I have a hyperactive imagination, and I can think of ALL KINDS of stuff! It’s awesome to know that God can fulfill all my dreams, plus some.

Having grown up in church and Christian schools, I have known this verse for as long as I can remember; but for some reason, that phrase never jumped out at me until a couple weeks ago. I got to thinking about what it meant, and I had a very interesting conversation with God. I reminded Him that He created me with a strong imagination and started telling Him all the great things I had thought of, and I told him that what would make it awesome would be if He actually did some of those things and even went beyond the scope of my imagination.

I guess God agreed with me, because this week He has worked out some pretty amazing things for me and Sam. I truly am in awe at most of it. Stay tuned, because in a few days I’ll tell you about some of what’s going on. (Right now, Sam has declared that everything is “Top Secret” until we see how it’s all going to play out.)

One response to this post.

  1. […] « Exceeding Abundantly […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

