My Heart Doesn’t Have a Brain

no brainThe title of this post probably sounds like an odd thing to say, but it’s true. What I mean is that when we use our hearts to make decisions, we sometimes end up doing very stupid things. Well, at least that’s the way it is with me. My heart decides it wants something, and my brain tries using logic and reasoning to dissuade me, but sometimes it just doesn’t matter. The heart wants to do what the heart wants to do.

Take yesterday, for example… My heart decided I should pay a visit on an old friend. My brain was going crazy, saying, “NO! Don’t do it! It’s a bad idea! No, no, no! Don’t…. Awwww, dangit, she did it!” Yep, I did, and it took every ounce of courage I had to knock on that door. While I was standing there waiting for it to open, I thought my heart was going to beat out of my chest, and my brain was saying, “I told you this was a bad idea…no way it’s going to end well!” (My brain can be such a party pooper!)

As the door opened, I had to remind myself to keep breathing, and my brain was struggling with what to say. But…the face in the door way wasn’t the one I was expecting. It was the familiar, smiling face of my friend’s father. I was simultaneously disappointed and relieved. In the many, many years since I had last stood at that door, some changes had taken place. My friend moved out, and the parents moved in. Although I was disappointed, my visit at the once-familiar home probably went a little better than it would have had the original occupant still lived there.

I think if I start listening to my brain more and my heart less, I’ll have less stress and fewer disappointments. So, yeah, that’s my new plan.

Leave a Reply

