Genealogy

family treeI find genealogy fascinating. It’s so fun to find out who your ancestors were, where they came from, and what they did. The internet is a wonderful tool for researching your family history. Of course, many of the genealogy sites charge you to use them, but FamilySearch is completely free, and that’s where I’ve been conducting my research lately.

Several years ago, I came across a man who had completed my family tree on my mom’s side all the way back to Lewis Taquett who came from France around 1709. On that side, there is even a possible link to Pocahontas, although some sources say it isn’t confirmed.

I have recently started researching my dad’s ancestry. I started with his paternal grandmother Katie Delilah Ong because the name Ong was so interesting. It seemed to suggest that at least someone in my lineage was from China. Well, no, that’s not the case. The name Ong was once Onge, and before that it was Young or Younge. As I was researching the name Ong, I found out that in 1631 a Frances Ong came to America from Bristol, England, with her three young sons. I knew, though I couldn’t prove, that she was my ancestor. Through much digging, I found all the links between Katie Ong and Frances Ong. In fact, I have found that I have several lines that go back to 1600’s England, Ireland, and Wales.

When my family first moved to this area in 1984, we heard of a famous preacher named Jonathan Mulkey who lived in the late 1700’s to early 1800’s and is buried less than 30 miles from here. Last night, I discovered that he is my great-great-great-great-great-great-grandfather. That was an exciting find since I’ve wondered about him since I was a teenager.

Although I have already found lots of interesting ancestors, I’m nowhere near finished. I haven’t even started researching my Grandma Thelma Grant’s family. Her maiden name was Lee, and I’m curious to see if I’m at all related to Robert E. Lee.

Leave a Reply

