It Can Be Worrisome Living Next Door to Old People

hamburgerMy last post was about my old neighbor, and so is this one. This afternoon, he came over and asked if I had some bread I could share for hamburgers, and he would provide the hamburgers and cheese. Of course, I couldn’t refuse an offer like that! I even happened to have some hamburger buns, which we agreed would be perfect. A while later, I heard him out on the porch getting the grill ready, and before long, I could smell the hamburgers.

Around 6pm, Sam and I were starting to wonder what had happened to the hamburgers, so Sam went next door to see. Walt almost always leaves his door open, but it was closed, and he didn’t answer when Sam knocked. I waited a little while, then went over there myself with the same results. So, we thought he must have gone somewhere, except I didn’t see or hear anyone come get him. (He doesn’t drive.)

Around 9pm, after my nightly walk, I took a peek in the grill, and there were the hamburgers, cooked down to about the size of silver dollars. That’s when I started getting worried. I sent Sam back over and told him to open if the door if Walt didn’t answer. The door was locked, so Sam just kept knocking until Walt finally opened it. Sam asked if he was okay, and he said he was and told Sam to come in and visit awhile.

Meanwhile, I sat patiently by while I waited for Sam to come back and tell me what happened. (If you know about the core colors in Motive Matters, you will understand when I say that waiting patiently was hard for me because I’m a yellow.) Sam visited with Walt for about half an hour. When he came back, he said that Walt must have just passed out drunk, and he seemed to have no recollection of the hamburgers at all.

It’s a good thing I had a backup plan for supper!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Oh! This old man is so blessed to have such loving neighbors in you both. He sounds so adorable too. Too bad he drinks, that’s probably not good if he had a flame going in the house though. Have a nice day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

