Customer Service at JC Penney

jeansMy experience working customer service at Walmart taught me many things, one of which is that complaining nicely will get you so much more than yelling, cursing, and threatening. I utilized that knowledge this weekend when I complained to a manager at JC Penney.

But, I’m getting ahead of myself. Let me start at the beginning.

Saturday evening, I went to Johnson City to JC Penney to get a new pair of jeans. A 30-mile trip to JC Penney may not seem like much to some people, but since there was a JC Penney right here in Bristol until a few months ago, it seems like a long trek to me.

I found some jeans I really liked, bought them, showed them to Sam when I got home, and that’s when I noticed it. The cashier had not removed the security device. There it was…that big, white thing attached to the left leg of my jeans. Sam was busy telling me how nice the jeans look on me, and all I could do was stare at that thing and dread the trip back to Johnson City to have it removed.

The next day, I got to the mall an hour before JC Penney opened, which added to my frustration. When I finally got to go in, I asked for a manager immediately, instead of trying to deal with a salesperson first. The manager was a young man with a pleasant personality. When I showed him my jeans with the security device still attached, he apologized profusely. When I went on to explain (in very polite tones) that I live in Bristol and didn’t appreciate the inconvenience of having to drive back to Johnson City to have it removed, he apologized some more and promptly gave me a gift card for my troubles.

I’ve always liked JC Penney, which is why I chose to drive to Johnson City to purchase my jeans there. After my experience this weekend, I’m still a big fan. I just wish the one in Bristol hadn’t closed!

Leave a Reply

