My New Year

45I did my traditional New Year’s post on New Year’s Day, but January 5 is my New Year’s Day because it is my birthday…the day I start MY new year. Between the first and the fifth, I ponder my life…things I like, things I need to change, things I wish I could change but can’t, things I want to accomplish, etc. Then, on my birthday, I make a plan for the new year. I must confess, 2014 didn’t go exactly as planned. In fact, most years don’t; but that doesn’t stop me from planning.

This is the first time in a long time that I’ve actually been excited about what my new year will hold for me. I know there will be lots and lots of changes, and I am positive that they will be mostly good ones.

Sam will probably move out on his own at some point this year. That brings mixed emotions. I can’t wait to see him spread his wings and fly, but I’ve grown so accustomed to his presence.

Work-wise, I see so many possibilities on the horizon,  lots of potentially great ideas. Of course, it will take a lot of effort to see any of them come to fruition, but that’s why it’s called “work”.

Over the past couple months, I’ve heard from some long-lost friends with whom I didn’t expect to have contact again. That gives me hope that relationships will blossom and flourish in the coming year.

I have made a few rather broad resolutions for this year, but I choose to keep those between me and God. I will say, though, that the overall theme of them is becoming a better me; and I believe that with God’s help, it will happen.

Leave a Reply

