My Favorite Verse

lightI was a timid, fearful little girl. I frequently had dreams of people (big, bad men or Indians in full war paint) chasing me; and many nights I ended up in my parents’ bed, with my feet tucked up as far as I could get them, in the hopes that if my pursuers looked for me in there, they wouldn’t notice the scrunched-up lump between Mom and Dad.

I believe it was my 2nd grade teacher who taught us a song from Psalm 27, using the first and last verses of the chapter. As soon as I learned that first verse, it became my favorite. Here’s what it says (in KJV, since that’s how I learned it):

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

For many years, that verse gave me comfort and courage. Then, the morning after my mom passed away, it came up again. I was reading through the book of Psalms, and chapter 27 just “happened” to be the next chapter to read that day. I don’t believe it was a coincidence. I believe God knew I needed something familiar and comforting at that time. I read the whole chapter over and over that morning, and I let God comfort me through it. In the years since then, I have faced other heartbreaking situations; and every time, God brings me back to Psalm 27. The whole chapter has become precious to me because of those hard times.

Leave a Reply

