Missing Mom

I haven’t written much lately. That’s because I’ve been keeping myself busy to keep the yearly bout of depression at bay. See, today marks 12 years since my mom passed away, and I miss her more today than I did then. I keep thinking that one year it’s not going to be as hard. To be honest, the two weeks leading up to today haven’t been quite as bad this year as in previous years. I’ve had new interests and activities to keep me busy, and that has helped.

Today, Sam and I took a 5-hour trip to see some long-time friends, and I hoped that would make today a little easier. Instead, the long drive, with Sam sleeping much of it, gave me a little too much solitude. If I could have one wish, it would be what this song says…one more day!

Leave a Reply

