Was that a gunshot?

I never knew either of my grandfathers. My dad’s father died when Dad was only 3 months old, and my mom’s father died when I was 10 months old. The closest thing I ever had to a grandfather was my dad’s step-father, Tollie Grant. He was killed when some drunks across the street were playing around with a gun, and a stray bullet went through the wall and lodged in his head while he was sleeping. I was only 9 years old, but I still vividly remember the shock of that incident. It has left me with an intense fear of thin walls and guns in the hands of a drunk.

That brings me to tonight. I’ve written here several times about my crazy, old neighbor, Walt. I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned that he’s a drunk, or that he owns a few guns, or how thin the walls are in these apartments.

Tonight, I heard a loud noise next door, and I sensed that it was something bad, even though I didn’t recognize it as a gunshot. A few minutes later, Walt came over and told me he did something stupid, that he had shot his gun in his apartment. He said the cops were coming and not to worry.

He came over again after a few minutes and said for me to hide in the back of my apartment because when the cops got here there could be more gunfire, and he didn’t want me to get hurt. A few minutes after that, I heard another gunshot next door. At that point, I was shaking from fear and cowering in the back of my apartment.

Very soon after the second gunshot, I heard the cops arrive and take Walt into custody without a struggle. I heard them ask the neighbor on the other end what he heard, and they eventually knocked on my door to ask me what I heard. I told them of the two gunshots and what Walt said to me when he came over here. Then, they took him away.

I have no idea what it was all about or who called the police. Walt said he shot into the floor of his apartment, but from what I could hear, the cops couldn’t find any bullet holes. I think they were afraid he was shooting randomly outside, but I know I heard the shots come from his apartment. I don’t know if I’ll ever know what was going on to make him shoot his gun, but I know he had been drinking. Maybe it will be in the news tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

