Mother’s Day

2014-10-28 15.59.34So, yesterday was Mother’s Day, and it was the first one in 12 years that I didn’t focus on the fact that I don’t have a mom any more. I didn’t talk about her, post pictures of her on facebook, or write about her here in my blog. I did think about her, of course, but I decided it was time to stop mourning about what I don’t have and be thankful instead for what I do have. So, yeserday I focused on my greatest blessing…being Sam’s mom.

He told me Friday night that his gift to me would be going to church with me. Much to my disappointment, he has pretty much stopped going to church, and last week he said he didn’t want me to ask him to go with me again. His volunteering to go to church with me was the greatest gift I could have asked for. It was decided that we would go to the second service since, apparently, it’s way too early for him to get up and be there at 9am for the early service. (I prefer the early service, myself.) Around 5am, he awakened me from a deep sleep to let me know that he hadn’t been able to sleep all night, so we might as well go to the early service. Much as I hated being awakened, I was glad about going to church early.

After church, he took me out to eat. He chose to take me to Mad Greek, which is our favorite restaurant on this side of Bristol. I like eating there because I can get food that I can’t make at home. Often, I’m not even sure exactly what it is that I’m eating, but I’ve never been disappointed in anything I’ve tried there. Yesterday, I chose Moussaka, and it was D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S!! When I got home, I googled it and found out that it is the national dish of Greece. No wonder! That stuff is out of this world! It’s a layered dish with potatoes, eggplant, beef, and bechamel sauce. Go ahead and google it to see what all the fuss is about.

The picture of Sam and me in the upper left corner was taken on Mother’s Day five years ago. It is still one of my very favorite pictures, even though now he has grown up and I have grown old.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by GCA Alumni on May 16, 2015 at 2:51 am

    Tried calling you several times while I was out the other day, but you never answered. Wanted you to know I was thinking about you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

