Month of Thanksgiving: Days Twenty-Two Thru Twenty-Five

Yeah, I know…I’m way behind again, and I’ve been called on to get caught up. So, here goes:

25Day Twenty-Five

Although I’ve mentioned them before, I’m thankful for both my job and my little baking business, Sweet Suzanne Sweets. They are the reason I’ve been too busy to stay caught up with my Thanksgiving posts. I’ve been putting in long days at work, and I’ve been baking, baking, baking to keep up with the orders I’ve received for cookies, cakes, and muffins. Lately, if I’m not at work, I’m either baking or trying to get a few hours of sleep. I can’t say I love my job, but I do really like my co-workers (most of them, anyway), and I’m thankful for them. My baking business is something I do love, though, and I’m thankful for every order that comes my way!

Days Twenty-Four and Twenty-Three

I’m thankful for my grandmothers. (I’m also thankful for my grandfathers, but since I never knew either of them, I’m focusing on my grandmothers whom I did know.)granny

Mom’s mother, Ora Tackett (known affectionately as Granny by everyone, not just her grandchildren) was so beautiful and stylish. She had a sharp mind and a keen sense of humor, and she was one of the best cooks ever. I couldn’t find the picture of her that I wanted to post, so I decided to share this one. It was obviously taken at Christmas, probably 1972 or 1973. Granny is standing with me, my brother Art, and my cousin Jeff. (Mom can be seen sitting in the background.)

grandmaDad’s mother, Thelma Grant, whom we called Grandma, was also beautiful, a talented seamstress, and a great cook. She loved to laugh and would often tell funny stories about Dad’s father who died when Dad was an infant. She was one of the most loving people I’ve ever known. Everyone who came into the family, even though it may have been for only a brief time, was loved and remembered by her. She never forgot anyone’s birthday. She embodied the concept of unconditional love.

mom and dadDay Twenty-Two

I’m thankful for my parents. They raised me and my brother in a godly, Christian home and taught us Biblical principles on which to build our lives. They broadened our horizons by traveling all over, both in the US and Mexico, and by instilling in us a love and respect for literature which could take us to lands far away. No one could ever doubt their devotion to each other; they were like two teenagers in love.

Leave a Reply

