Happy New Year!

2016-01-05 13.54.19Yeah, I know New Years Day was four days ago, but this is MY New Years Day. It’s my birthday! Tonight, I read over my birthday post from last year, and I was surprised at how positive it was. I started off the year thinking it was going to be glorious, when it was, in fact, very tumultuous, with lots and lots of things that went wrong. Amazingly, though, I find myself far better off, in just about every way, than I was at this time last year. I would have to say that, overall, it was a good year; and my few resolutions were more or less fulfilled.

As for this upcoming year, I don’t dare speculate on how it’s going to turn out. However, I know from experience that with a positive attitude and my heart focused squarely on God, I will say at the end of it that it was, overall, a good year. And, I’m looking forward to every moment of it.

My birthday was wonderful. I drove to Atlanta, GA, yesterday (for my first-ever solo vacation), and I spent last night and today with good friends. My friend Al Faulkner was excessively gracious. He got me a room in the hotel where he works, took me out to dinner last night, and took me out to lunch today. (The cake pictured at the top right was part of my lunch celebration.) I can’t thank Al enough for his generosity. Last night, I spent some time with a school friend, just hanging out, talking, laughing, walking a dog. It was a relaxing, enjoyable time. Thank you, Vanessa!

 

Leave a Reply

