What I’ve Learned – Take Two

LearnAbout a week ago, I published a post titled, “What I’ve Learned.” It contained a lot of wisdom, but it was from someone else. So, I decided to write out what I, myself, have learned. It may not be as long or profound as the previous post, but it will be more honest.

I’ve learned that no matter how badly I mess up, the people who love me will still love me; and no matter what kind, loving, or grand thing I do, those who hate me will never love me. I’ve learned that long-distance relationships are practically impossible to maintain. I’ve learned who I am; and more importantly, I’ve learned to love who I am. I’ve learned that I’m happier and make more friends when I’m just me and not some version of me that others want or expect me to be. I’ve learned that people can and will change, some for the better, some for the worse. I’ve learned that even when I change for the better, some people will keep treating me as if I’m still the old me. I’ve learned that actions really do speak louder than words. I’ve learned that music often speaks louder than speech. I’ve learned that there are things worse than losing a loved one in death. I’ve learned that plans change. I’ve learned that sometimes new friends become closer and dearer than old friends. I’ve learned not to speak about deep things to shallow people. I’ve learned that it’s important to have traditions. I’ve learned that sometimes I talk too much. I’ve learned that people can (and often do) surprise me in positive ways. I’ve learned to forgive others. I’ve learned that the hardest person to forgive is myself. I’ve learned that God will always provide for me. I’ve learned that God’s plan is infinitely better than any plans I can come up with on my own. I’ve learned that some things I’ve learned are hard to put into words, and a blog post like this could never hold all the things I’ve learned.

Leave a Reply

