Draw Me Nearer

Although the song in my last post is modern, I actually tend to me more old-school. I love hymns. I find them more comforting and soothing than any other genre of music, and I listen to them often. (I have a favorite Pandora channel just for hymns.) When I first started attending Discovery Church, I didn’t care for the music at all because it’s all new music and rarely ever a hymn. Now, I appreciate the music at church and sometimes even listen to it in the car, but I still listen mostly to hymns when I’m at home.

At work, because of the loud machines and mandatory ear plugs, there is often not much opportunity for conversation with co-workers. Instead, I talk to God…a LOT; I have a lot to talk to Him about. I also sing to myself (in my head, not out loud). Most of the songs I sing are hymns because those are the songs I know all the words to, given my upbringing in church and Christian schools. They have been a great encouragement to me, often helping me have a better attitude about work and my co-workers.

The other night, I started singing the hymn “Draw Me Nearer” (also called “I Am Thine, O Lord”). It had been a while since I had heard it, and I surprised myself by remembering all the words. As I pondered on the words I was singing, God spoke to me, especially through the last few words of the second verse: “…And my will be lost in Thine.” I often pray with that intent, but then, as I go about my life, I find myself doing my will again. I believe the secret is in the chorus: “Draw me nearer…” The nearer I am to God, the more apt I am to do His will and not my own.

Here is a beautiful version of the song, in case you don’t know it, have forgotten it, or just want to hear it again:

One response to this post.

  1. Hi, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this blog post. It
    was inspiring. Keep on posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

