Thirteen Years

IMG_2181There’s a hidden blessing in having a great big load of catastrophes land on you all at one time. This is the first time in thirteen years that I’ve been so busy dealing with other stuff going on that I haven’t had time to dread the anniversary of my mom’s death. Tonight, at 11:10 p.m. CT, it will be thirteen years since Mom took her last breath. Just eleven days prior to that, my Grandma passed away. It was a BAD month, and every year since then, February has been the worst month of the year, but never as bad as February 2003…until this year, that is. This month has been the worst month Sam and I have experienced, and I have wished more than anything that I could talk to Mom about it all. The past few days, several things have come up as a reminder of her and her faith, and they have been of sweet comfort to me. At the end of this post I have added a song that is very fitting for this time I’m going through.

The picture in the top left corner is one of my very favorites of Mom. She and Sam look supremely happy, because they were. They loved each other so much! Below is a collection of some old pictures from Mom’s school days, elementary through college:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

