Bad, Bad February

2016-02-14 18.02.13This month can’t get over soon enough! Thankfully, it is the shortest month, although this year it is longer than usual, being Leap Year. Traditionally, February is the worst month of the year for me and Sam, but this year, it has been brutal.

It started out with Sam wrecking (and totaling) yet another vehicle (third in less than eleven months), and yesterday I had a wreck. I am very thankful to God that my wreck was minor, with no injuries to myself (other than shaken nerves that were already on edge) and with only minimal damage to my car. In the photo in the top right corner, you can see the damage to my front bumper and license plate.

It turns out that my car is not good in the snow…at all. Being a front-wheel drive, it is better at getting me through the snow and up snowy inclines than my Mustang was, but being 26 years old, it doesn’t have anti-lock brakes. More than once yesterday, the brakes completely failed on me as I was trying to drive through a small amount of snow. One of those times, I was going down a hill with an intersection at the foot of the hill. Another vehicle was stopped at the stop sign at the intersection, directly in my path. When I realized that my brakes weren’t going to stop me in time, I turned my wheel sharply to the right and plowed into the hill that was along the side of the road. That stopped me in my tracks and prevented an otherwise inevitible collision.

2016-02-15 08.28.58Although I was shaking inside, I managed to get my car turned back around, and I made it safely to my destination and back home. Well, I made it back home, but my car didn’t quite make it. It is still stuck at the bottom of my driveway. In a few minutes, I’ll be going out there to see if I can get it out so I can get to work tonight. Since it has been in the mid- to upper-30’s most of the day, I’m hoping enough of the snow has melted so that I will be able to get out.

From my window, I can see that my road is clear, even though my driveway is not. I took the picture on the left around 8:30 this morning, before the snow plow came through. You can see that the road was completely covered at that time. About an hour later, I heard the plow, and the road has stayed clear the rest of the day. If I’m not able to get out, or if I do get out and get into another wreck, I’m sure you’ll be hearing about it here. So, stay tuned!

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jonny Doe on February 19, 2016 at 12:12 am

    So sorry that your month has been so crappy. The only thing I can think is that better days are coming, for both of us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

