What Would Jesus Do?

In His StepsI’ve been re-reading Charles Sheldon’s book In His Steps, which was the original catalyst for the “What would Jesus do” movement. (You can get the Kindle version for FREE here.) I read it for the first time over 20 years ago, and I’ve read it a few times since. Every time I read it, I’m overwhelmed with my responsibility, as a Christian, to study the Bible so that I will know what Jesus would do in almost any given situation and then to purposely do what I believe He would do.

Although I am sincerely committed to this lifestyle, I know I’m not perfect and never will be. Sometimes, figuring out what Jesus would do is a no-brainer and is what I would probably do anyway. Other times, it’s harder to know what He would do, or, what frequently happens, I act or react before asking myself the question. In cases of hasty actions or reactions, I almost always conclude that I was not being very Christ-like.

A couple days ago, I got in an argument with Sam and reacted in a non-Christ-like manner. He stunned me by asking, “Is that what Jesus would do, Mom?” That stopped me in my tracks, and I had to admit that no, it was not what Jesus would have done. I apologized to Sam and thanked him for reminding me of my commitment. He informed me that he, too, is trying to live his life with that question at the forefront, and we agreed to help each other stick to it.

Today, a real challenge presented itself. I don’t watch a lot of television, but the shows I typically choose to watch are ones that are intense with in-depth plots and lots of intellectual content for me and Sam to discuss. Unfortunately, most of those shows also contain elements that I have decided are not things Jesus would approve of, and I’ve had to make a decision about whether or not to continue watching them. Today, the new season of “House of Cards” was released on Netflix. Sam and I have been eagerly anticipating its arrival. Then, I dropped the bomb…I told Sam that I don’t think Jesus would watch “House of Cards” or some of the other shows we enjoy.

Sam is heartbroken! One of our favorite things to do, generating some of our closest moments of bonding, is discussing all the plot twists and turns on those shows. To be honest, though, I have always felt a twinge through some of the racier scenes, and now I just don’t think I could even get through an episode without feeling that I would be very embarrassed if Jesus walked in on me watching it.

I know some would say that it’s a small area of my life, so it’s not a big deal. However, I remembered that Jesus said that even though we keep the whole law, yet offend in one point, we are guilty of all. While I am well aware that I will never be perfect, and I will sometimes do or say things that Jesus never would, I feel like it would be wrong for me to willfully do something that I’m pretty sure He wouldn’t do. That’s why I’m giving up some of my favorite tv shows and who knows what else in the future.

Leave a Reply

