I Hate Needles!

2016-03-08 16.15.08The picture on the left is the IV that was put in my arm yesterday afternoon. Since then, I’ve been poked so many times I’m starting to feel like a pin cushion.

On my way to work yesterday afternoon, I had what I’m calling an “episode”. I started having chest pains, my heart felt like it was racing, and I had a wave of nausea and haziness sweep over me. Somehow, I managed to get to work, and as I sat in my car, I started feeling some better. I went on in, clocked in, and started working. I soon realized that I wasn’t able to keep working. My heart started racing again, and I felt the nausea and haziness coming back. I was able to sit for a while and rest and sip some water, and an EMS crew came to check me out. Although my symptoms had subsided by the time they got there, they said it would probably be a good idea for me to let them take me to the ER to get checked out more thoroughly.2016-03-08 16.17.43

Once I got to the ER, there were lots of tests done, and the doctor decided I needed to be observed overnight and have a stress test this morning. I just now got back the last of the results, and everything came back normal. That’s a relief, although it means I still don’t know what caused me to have that episode. I’ll get to go home sometime today, after the doctor makes a final visit to give me the official results and further instructions. They have mentioned sending me for a sleep study, so I’m sure that will be one of the topics the doctor will talk about, especially since everything else has come back normal.

To the right is my obligatory hospital selfie. Looking pretty rough, but beyond ready to go home.

Leave a Reply

