Choosing God’s Way

2016-03-12 19.09.11As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m re-reading In His Steps by Charles Sheldon and endeavoring to live my life with the question “What would Jesus do?” as my motivation for everything I do. Having grown up in Christian home, attended Christian schools, and generally been inundated with the Bible since birth, you’d think I would naturally be doing well at this already; but you would be wrong. Surprisingly (appallingly so), I didn’t realize how off the mark I was until I conscientiously considered my life in light of that question.

Naturally, changes have been made and continue to be made: some small, some big; some easy, some very difficult; some affecting only myself, some affecting everyone around me; some readily accepted by others, some questioned. One decision in particular was huge, very difficult to come to, will affect multiple people, and has not been unanimously praised by my friends. In fact, I have been told that I’m making the wrong decision and that it will end in disaster.

I’m not going to go into the details of the decision at this time, but I do want to explain how I came to it. (Curious minds will be indulged at a later date, I assure you.)

First of all, this is something I did not want to do. I have spent countless hours praying about it and searching God’s word for guidance. I did not make this decision lightly or flippantly. As I was on my knees, praying about it, I had the thought that maybe now I can, in a small measure, understand how Jesus felt in the Garden of Gethsemane when He prayed, “Not My will, but Thine.” The short answer as to how I came to this decision is that I believe 100% that it is what God wants me to do.

As I was praying and pondering over this decision one day, God brought to mind the story, from Daniel 3, of the Hebrew children who were thrown in the firey furnace. For those who are unfamiliar with the story, the city of Jerusalem was taken by Babylon, and the brightest and best of the children of Israel were taken captive. The king of Babylon, Nebuchadnezzar, built a huge image and commanded everyone to bow down to it or be thrown in a firey furnace. Three of the Hebrew children: Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego, refused to bow down. When they were brought before Nebuchadnezzar, their response to him was: “If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and he will deliver us out of thine hand, O king. But if not, be it known unto thee, O king, that we will not serve thy gods, nor worship the golden image which thou hast set up.” (Dan. 3:17, 18, KJV)

Nebuchadnezzar was angered by this to the point that he had the furnace heated seven times hotter than usual, and it was so hot that the flames killed the men who threw them into the furnace. Miraculously, Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego were not hurt by the fire. In fact, they were walking around in the furnace with a fourth man whom Nebuchadnezzar said was like the son of God. They were called to come out of the furnace, and they didn’t even smell like smoke! God saved them just as they knew He could.

Since God is the same today as He was then and has always been, I know that, as long as I am doing what I believe He wants me to do, with no other motive than pleasing Him, He will take care of me as well; and hopefully, others who see me will see God walking along beside me. Although I must confess some nervousness about my decision, and although I am aware of some potentially disastrous outcomes, I know that the God whom I serve is able to make everything come out even better than I can imagine. All I have to do is trust Him, and that’s what I am doing.

So, when I finally reveal all, I sincerely hope I won’t receive a backlash of negativity from my friends and family. Even if you don’t agree with me, I hope you can see that everything I am doing is in an effort to follow what I believe is God’s will for my life. I’m going into this as positively as I can, and I am counting on positive moral support from all of you.

(For those of you who just have to have a hint, here it is: Sam and I are moving. By the end of next month, we will be all settled into our new/old home.)

Leave a Reply

