He Was Wounded

Isaiah 53:5 But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

Christ beatenI read that verse in my daily devotions yesterday and thought about it all day. As I was reading it, I could see, in my very vivid imagination, Jesus being beaten. As the scene unfolded, I realized that each time I sinned, regardless of how big or little the sin was, Jesus received another lash of the whip. I’ve known practically my whole life that Jesus died for my sins, but it wasn’t until yesterday that it dawned on me that He died for ALL my sins, even the ones that I may consider small or insignificant. The white lies, the harsh words, the unjust thoughts of others, the poor use of my time and/or money, so many “little” sins. The thing is, to God, they are all just sin, not big sins or little sins. And, Jesus was beaten for each one.

Pondering on this all day made me realize how wicked I really am and how loving God is. It made me more aware of every action, every thought, every motive. It made me ashamed of those things which I consider small but which caused Jesus pain. It was a fitting passage for this week, with Easter right around the corner. I pray that even after Easter has passed, the realization of Jesus’ sacrifice will stay with me, making me aware of what each of my sins cost Him.

Leave a Reply

